Det danske Fredsakademi

Kronologi over fredssagen og international politik 13. januar 2012 / Time Line January 13, 2012

Version 3.5

12. Januar 2012, 14. Januar 2012

Guatemala Ratifies Test Ban Treaty
CTBCO preparatory commission for the comprehensive nuclear-test-ban treaty organization
Guatemala has reaffirmed its long-standing support for the Comprehensive Nuclear-Test-Ban Treaty (CTBT) by ratifying the Treaty. The number of ratifications now stands at 156; while a total of 182 States have signed the Treaty. The instrument of ratification was handed over personally by Foreign Minister Haroldo Rodas Melgar at a ceremony at the United Nations in New York yesterday afternoon.
The region of Latin America and the Caribbean was the first in the world to establish a nuclear-weapon-free zone with the Treaty of Tlatelolco in 1967. “Guatemala’s ratification of the CTBT is a boost for the Treaty of Tlatelolco, which will soon celebrate 10 years of being the world’s first nuclear-weapon-free zone to include all countries in the region,” noted Tibor Tóth, adding: “This bodes well for the CTBT.” Among the 33 States in the Latin America and the Caribbean region, 31 have now ratified the CTBT; Cuba and Dominica being the only countries that have not yet signed or ratified.
The CTBT can only enter into force after it has been ratified by the eight remaining nuclear technology holder countries: China, the Democratic People’s Republic of Korea, Egypt, India, Iran, Israel, Pakistan and the United States. The Indonesian parliament took the decision to ratify the CTBT on 6 December 2011.
The CTBT bans all nuclear explosions everywhere, by everyone. The CTBTO is building an International Monitoring System (IMS) to make sure that no nuclear explosion goes undetected. There are currently over 280 facilities in 85 countries, including 35 in the Latin America and the Caribbean region. Guatemala hosts an operational IMS seismic station in El Apazote in central Guatemala. Seismic stations monitor the ground for shockwaves generated by nuclear explosions.

U.S. Department of Labor : DOL Notifies Workers of 17 Facilities Associated with Uranium Mill Tailings Radiation Control Act about Potential Eligibility under EEOICPA.
'WASHINGTON The U.S. Department of Labor is notifying former workers of 17 facilities associated with the Uranium Mill Tailings Radiation Control Act about compensation and medical benefits potentially available to them under the Energy Employees Occupational Illness Compensation Program Act, which is administered by the department's Division of Energy Employees Occupational Illness Compensation. Survivors of qualified workers also may be entitled to benefits.'



Gå til Fredsakademiets forside
Tilbage til indholdsfortegnelsen for januar 2012

Send kommentar, email eller søg i
Locations of visitors to this page